CAF Awards 2022 Nominees

Visits: 1


CAF awards 2022 nominees; CAF has put out the first list of nominees for the CAF Awards 2022, which was held in Rabat, Morocco, on July 21, 2022.

Most of the revealed nominees are for the Men’s categories, including Player of the Year, Interclub Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, National Team of the Year, and Club of the Year. When the time comes, the names of the nominees for the Women’s categories will be made public.


A group of Technical Experts, CAF Legends, and Journalists made the list for the different categories, taking into account how each nominee did at all levels from September 2021 to June 2022.

A group of people from the CAF Technical Committee, the media, Head Coaches and Captains of Member Associations, and clubs in the group stage of the Interclub competitions will vote on the winners of each category.

The CAF Awards 2022 will be held before the final of Africa’s most important women’s competition, the TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations Morocco 2022, which will take place from July 2 to July 23, 2022. The event will also mark the two-year anniversary of when the CAF Women’s Football Strategy was first put into place.

Full List of Nominees (in alphabetic order by Member Association):

Player of the Year (Men)

  1. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
  2. Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Aston Villa)
  3. Blati Toure (Burkina Faso & Pyramids)
  4. Edmund Tapsoba (Burkina Faso & Bayer Leverkusen)
  5. Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Cameroon & Napoli)
  6. Karl Toko Ekambi (Cameroon & Lyon)
  7. Vincent Aboubacar (Cameroon & Al Nassr)
  8. Youssouf M’Changama (Comoros & Guingamp)
  9. Franck Kessie (Côte d’Ivoire & AC Milan)
  10. Sebastien Haller (Côte d’Ivoire & Ajax)
  11. Mohamed Abdelmonem (Egypt & Al Ahly)
  12. Mohamed ElNeny (Egypt & Arsenal)
  13. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  14. Mohamed Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)
  15. Musa Barrow (Gambia & Bologna)
  16. Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)
  17. Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly)
  18. Hamari Traore (Mali & Rennes)
  19. Yves Bissouma (Mali & Tottenham Hotspur)
  20. Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Paris Saint-Germain)
  21. Sofiane Boufal (Morocco & Angers)
  22. Yahya Jabrane (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
  23. Yassine Bounou (Morocco & Sevilla)
  24. Moses Simon (Nigeria & Nantes)
  25. Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)
  26. Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
  27. Nampalys Mendy (Senegal & Leicester City)
  28. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)
  29. Saliou Ciss (Senegal & Nancy)
  30. Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

  1. Riad Benayad (ES Setif)
  2. Tiago Azulao (Petro Atletico)
  3. Karim Konate (ASEC Mimosas)
  4. Ali Maaloul (Al Ahly)
  5. Aliou Dieng (Al Ahly)
  6. Mohamed Shenawy (Al Ahly)
  7. Mohamed Sherif (Al Ahly)
  8. Percy Tau (Al Ahly)
  9. Morlaye Sylla (Horoya)
  10. Achraf Dari (Wydad Athletic Club)
  11. Yahya Jabrane (Wydad Athletic Club)
  12. Zouhair El Moutaraji (Wydad Athletic Club)
  13. Mouhcine Moutouali (Raja Club Athletic)
  14. Issoufou Dayo (RS Berkane)
  15. Youssou El Fahli (RS Berkane)
  16. Victorien Adebayor (Niger & Union Sportive Gendarmerie Nationale)
  17. Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  18. Bandile Shandu (Orlando Pirates)
  19. Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)
  20. Mohamed Ali Ben Romdhane (Esperance Sportive de Tunis)

Young Player of the Year (Men)

  1. Dango Ouattara (Burkina Faso & Lorient)
  2. Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg)
  3. Jesus Owono (Equatorial Guinea & Alaves)
  4. James Gomez (The Gambia & AC Horsens)
  5. Kamaldeen Sulemana (Ghana & Rennes)
  6. Ilaix Moriba Kourouma (Guinea & Valencia)
  7. El Bilal Toure (Mali & Reims)
  8. Akinkunmi Amoo (Nigeria & FC Copenhagen)
  9. Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Metz)
  10. Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)

Coach of the Year (Men)

  1. Kamou Malo (Burkina Faso)
  2. Amir Abdul (Comoros)
  3. Carlos Quieroz (Egypt)
  4. Pitso Mosimane (Al Ahly)
  5. Tom Saintfiet (The Gambia)
  6. Florent Ibenge (RS Berkane)
  7. Vahid Halilhodzic (Morocco)
  8. Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)
  9. Aliou Cisse (Senegal)
  10. Mandla Ncikazi (Orlando Pirates)

National Team of the Year (Men)

  1. Burkina Faso
  2. Cameroon
  3. Comoros
  4. Egypt
  5. Equatorial Guinea
  6. The Gambia
  7. Mali
  8. Morocco
  9. Senegal
  10. Tunisia

Club of the Year (Men)

  1. ES Setif (Algeria)
  2. Petro Atletico (Angola)
  3. TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
  4. Al Ahly (Egypt)
  5. Ahli Tripoli (Libya)
  6. Al Ittihad (Libya)
  7. Raja Club Athletic (Morocco)
  8. RS Berkane (Morocco)
  9. Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)
  10. Orlando Pirates (South Africa)


CAF | Communication Department

[email protected]


Leave your thoughts

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons